Vikas Ka Budget
Duties Citizen Contest
Digital Locker
Digital India NCP
Taj Mahal
Airplan Landing
parliament house
What's new
  • Visa on Arrival facility for Japanese Nationals w.e.f. 01 March, 2016
Tourist Visa on Arrival

About Bureau Of Immigration

 Bureau of Immigration (BoI) was setup in 1971 by Government of India to undertake Immigration function in the country. BoI is headed by Commissioner of Immigration and assisted by FRROs for immigration facilitation service at airports and work relating to registration of foreigners under various Acts and Rules. Altogether, there are 86 Immigration Check Posts all over India, catering to international traffic. Out of these, 37 ICPs are functioning under the BoI, while the remaining are being managed by the concerned State Governments.  At present, there are 12 FRROs in major cities i.e. Delhi, Mumbai Kolkata, Chennai, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Calicut, Kochi, Trivandrum, Lucknow and Ahmedabad. Apart from this, there are 11 Chief Immigration Officers in the cities i.e. Goa, Jaipur, Gaya, Varanasi, Nagpur, Pune, Mangalore, Trichy, Coimbatore, Bagdogra and Guwahati. At remaining places District Superintendent of Police (SP) or the prescribed authority functions as FRO to facilitate foreigners.

 To strengthen the Immigration system, a modernization programme viz. Mission Mode Project on Immigration, Visa Foreigners’ Registration and Tracking (IVFRT) has been undertaken by MHA/BoI, with the assistance of  National Informatics Center(NIC). Under the project, all the Indian Missions, Immigration Checkposts  (ICPs), FRRO/FRO offices are being computerized and networked to develop a secure and integrated delivery framework to facilitate   legitimate travelers.  

MISSION STATEMENT - " Vision, Mission and Values"
Digital India National Portal of India Data Portal of India

Page Last reviewed and updated on December 3,2015

Site Last reviewed and updated on February 24,2016